I believe that the boating rules have covered these situations for many years. For visiting boaters, all states, territories, and provinces will recognize boating education cards that meet NASBLA requirements and Canadian Pleasure Craft Operator Cards that meet Transport Canada’s requirements. Indiana laws in their entirety can be found in the Indiana Code (IC), Indiana Administrative Code Those born on or after July 1, 1996, may operate a boat legally only if they have been issued a boating safety certificate and have it on board the boat. Each child under the age of 6 years, and in an open deck area is REQUIRED by law to wear a TYPE I or TYPE II PFD AT ALL TIMES! Alabama law specifically states that it is illegal to be in physical control of any vessel, water skis, or similar device if the operator has a concentration of alcohol in his or her blood of 0.08% or more. The Common Law: Boating Laws and Night WaterSkiing Boating Laws and Night Water Skiing By Luke Ellis, Fri., July 5, 2013. Michigan law states that a person operating a vessel shall operate it in a careful and prudent manner and at such a rate of speed so as not to unreasonably endanger the life or property of any person. This site requires JavaScript. Michigan law requires all children under 6 years of age to wear a USCG—approved Type I or II PFD when riding on the open deck of any vessel. The Handbook of Michigan Boating Laws and Responsibilities is the official boating handbook developed for the Michigan Department of Natural Resources. In addition to the above requirements, one Type IV USCG—approved PFD must be on board vessels 16 feet or longer and readily accessible. New Michigan boating and fishing laws take effect March 21: What to know. May not operate a boat powered by a motor of more than 35 hp legally under any conditions. Your browser either doesn’t support JavaScript or you have it turned off. He or she is accompanied on board by his or her parent or legal guardian or by a person at least 21 years of age who has been designated by the parent or legal guardian. The Michigan implied consent law applies for boat operator intoxication testing. The first thing I am going to cover is the lights on the boat. If you see a red and a white light ahead when boating at night, you should maintain course and speed. When two vessels are approaching each other at right angles or obliquely so as to involve risk of collision, the operator of the vessel which has the other on his own port (left) side shall hold his course and speed, and the operator of the vessel which has the other on his own starboard (right) side shall give way to the other by directing his course to starboard so as to cross the stern of the other vessel or, if necessary to do so, shall slacken his speed, stop or reverse. “Boating is a great way to enjoy Michigan’s many lakes and waterways, but accidents do happen,” said Mark Bernstein of The Sam Bernstein Law Firm. Michigan’s boating laws are enforced by: Michigan Department of Natural Resources law enforcement Division. 3. Here's how to safely enjoy a night out on the water. Vessels and persons being towed on water skis, water sleds, etc. Thread starter Vikingstaff; Start date May 22, 2019; Tags boater safety laws May 22, 2019 #1 Vikingstaff Well-Known Member. Other authorized law enforcement (on federal waters). PWC Safety Regulations - Michigan. Michigan's PFD law permits a vessel that is less than 16 feet long, or is a canoe or kayak, to choose to have either a wearable PFD (Type I, II, or III) or a throwable PFD (Type IV) for each person on board. For general enforcement questions, e-mail DNR-LawEnforcement@michigan.gov or call us at 517-284-6000. • Michigan law requires power-driven boats less than 26 feet long to have red and green sidelights visible from a distance of at least one … The State of Michigan does have a legal blood alcohol level for boaters who are driving. This includes reckless manipulation of water skis, a surfboard, or similar device that can be defined as operational. 4. 9. All boats needs to have a red/green light in the front of the boat and a white light for the back. A person shall maintain a distance of 100 ft. from any dock, boat, raft, buoyed or occupied bathing area while driving at other than slow – no wake speed. We provide support Monday through Friday from 8:30 a.m. to midnight CST and Saturday and Sunday from 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. CST. At night . Each person riding on or towed behind a PWC must wear a U.S. Coast Guard—approved Type I, II, or III personal flotation device. Maximum speed 55 m.p.h. Yes . 3. No water skiing between one hour after sunset and one hour prior to sunrise. 1. Sailboats have the right-of-way to motorboats while they are under sail power. Dockwa wants everyone to boat safely. Those at least 16 years of age and born after December 31,1978, may operate a PWC legally only if they have obtained a boating safety certificate. Alcohol Restrictions . Associated Press. Boats operating after dark must be at a no wake speed with lights operating. Rules and Regulations. This additional person shall be in a position to observe the progress of the person being towed. No . "#$ R%&'() *+, N#(",#$ R-)+",.- U)-,) The Michigan Department of Natural Resources provides equal opportunities for employ - ment and access to MichiganÕs natural resources. Michigan law enforcement officers patrol the waterways to make your boating experience safe and pleasant. info@mymlsa.org, Copyright © 2020 Michigan Lakes & Streams Association, Inc. All vessels are required to provide at least one United States Coast Guard approved PERSONAL FLOTATION DEVICE per passenger. keep the approaching boat to your left). County Sheriff’s Department. After sunset any boat underway should have red and green lights on the bow and a white light at the stern. Nebraska. 3. SLOW – NO WAKE ! Michigan Boating Laws and Responsibilities Equal Rights for Natural Resource Users The Michigan Department of Natural Resources provides equal opportunities for employ-ment and access to Michigan’s natural resources. Tags: News, All About Michigan. 4. A comprehensive handbook defining Michigan's boating laws and regulations, navigation rules, weather emergencies, encountering other vessels and much more. Hold a boating safety certificate. Driving boats at high speed after dark is ... Of Michigan Boating Laws and Responsibilities for complete rules and to make sure you are doing everything possible to ensure a safe time on the water. The white light in the back needs to … Michigan Boating Laws and Responsibilities E! Those less than 14 years of age may not legally operate a PWC. Steering and Sailing Rules. Boating in Michigan, cast a line in the water, strap on the water skis or just set sail and relax because Michigan’s waters offer a boating adventure that you'll be talking about long after you've returned to the dock. Motorboats shall give way to non-motorized vessels. Slow – no wake speed within 100 feet of the shoreline, any watercraft, pier, person, raft, swimming area, and swimmers. Yeah! Yes . LIQUOR AND / OR CONTROLLED SUBSTANCES. A person 14 or 15 years of age may operate a PWC if:• Have been issued a boating safety certificate and have it on board the vessel,• Are accompanied by or are operating the PWC no more than 100 feet from a parent, legal guardian, or another designated person of 21 or older. The new laws include the following: A person should not release baitfish in any Michigan waters. Penalty: Not carrying your Boater Education Card when one is required can result in a fine. Boating Rules and Regulations 1. According to the Handbook of Michigan Boating Laws and Responsibilities, dangerous operations include reckless operation. A person who is intoxicated (as defined in the same way as for driving a car) may not operate or be in control of any vessel. Yes . The Coast Guard. Tweet. Law enforcement in the state of Michigan have the authority to stop and board boats to ensure that they are in compliance with state and federal laws. Published: March 19, 2019, 8:11 am. The handbook introduces you to Michigan laws governing boating and provides general information about safe vessel operation. Kalkomey is the official provider of recreational safety education materials for all 50 states. (Photo: Getty Images/Casarsaguru) Eventually, by choice or not, most boaters find themselves out on the water at night. A person shall not operate a vessel at a rate of speed greater than will permit him, in the exercise of reasonable care, to bring the vessel to stop within an assured clear distance ahead. Skiiers, tubers, and anyone else being pulled behind a boat are required to wear their life … A person diving shall stay within a surface area of 100 feet of a diver’s flag. AND; Are accompanied by a supervisor who's at least 16 years old. At least one competent person, in addition to the driver, shall be in any boat towing persons on water skis, tubes, etc. Both state and federal laws prohibit Boating after dark can be scary if you're not prepared. write a letter. Kalkomey is a private organization dedicated to providing boating education courses and certification and publishing boating safety education materials. For a PWC (personal watercraft), no towing between sunset and 8:00am. Being aware of the boating safety requirements for your boat, extends to personal watercrafts as well. Appropriate lights required after dark . after sunset and before sunrise unless equipted with navigation lights. Need help? Kalamazoo, MI 49019 No water skiing between one hour after sunset and one hour prior to sunrise. VII. Stricter drunken boating laws take effect this spring . Cooperate with them by following the laws and … … 6. In general, this certificate can only be obtained after the successful completion of a boaters safety course that is approved by the DNR. A person shall not operate a vessel in a manner so as to unreasonably interfere with other persons lawfully using Michigan’s water resources. Those at least 16 years of age and born after December 31,1978, may operate a PWC legally only if they have obtained a boating safety certificate. 3. Lake Michigan (Indiana portion), the Great Miami River, the Ohio River, and the portion of the Wabash River that forms a border between Indiana and Illinois. Whether the day got away from you, or because of a breakdown, or if you just feel ready for a new challenge, being prepared is key. For a PWC (personal watercraft), no towing between sunset and 8:00am. Law Enforcement Authority The boating laws of Indiana are enforced by the Conservation Officers of the Indiana Department of Natural Resources, the U.S. Coast Guard officers, and any other authorized peace officer or law enforcement officer. Carrying more persons than the vessel is designed to carry is prima facie evidence of reckless operationof a vessel. 8. 1. Are directly supervised on board by a person at least 16 years of age. When two vessels are approaching each other head-on, or nearly so, the operator of each shall cause his vessel to pass on the port (left) side of the other (i.e. View Comments. 1. The laws include the removal of drain plugs and aquatic organisms from boats and trailers and disposal of unused baitfish, put in place to prevent the spread of aquatic invasive … Nevada. A person who was born after December 31, 1978 shall not operate a PWC on Michigan waters unless they have obtained a boating safety certificate. View press releases. (This is known as “reciprocity.”). print. State-Specific Boating Safety Requirements 1. shall maintain a distance of 100 foot from any dock, raft, buoyed or occupied bathing areas, or vessels moored or at anchor, except when the vessel is proceeding at a slow-no wake speed or when water skiers are being picked-up or dropped off. The rules that apply here include boat lighting. The value is reduced by 10 percent each year up to a 50 percent reduction from the original value. This is the same legal standard that applies to motor vehicle drivers. Instead of requiring a boating license in Michigan, the Department of Natural Resources (DNR) requires most personal watercraft operators to obtain a boat safety certificate. 2. Persons operating vessels shall operate in a counter-clockwise fashion when it reasonably possible. What Does Michigan Law Say About Drinking and Boating? PO Box 19615 Add sandy beaches, historic lighthouses, remote islands, waterfront villages and port cities to the nation’s longest freshwater coastline and you have an Learn vocabulary, terms, and more with flashcards, games, and other study tools. The rules that apply here include boat lighting. We provide online boating and hunting and other recreational safety education. The Michigan Legislature Website is a free service of the Legislative Internet Technology Team in cooperation with the Michigan Legislative Council, the Michigan House of Representatives, and the Michigan Senate. Start studying Michigan Boater's Safety Course. Boat-ed.com is produced by Kalkomey Enterprises, LLC. All vessels are required to provide at least one United States Coast Guard approved PERSONAL FLOTATION DEVICE per passenger. Maneuvers that endanger life, limb, or property, including weaving through congested traffic, jumpingthe wake of another vessel or turning unnecessarily close to another other vessel and/or swerving at the last moment to avoid a collision constitutes reckless operation of a vessel. Michigan law requires all children under 6 years of age to … Law Enforcement Annual Report 2019 Hunting Incidents 2020 Check out the United States Coast Guard website for information on federal laws and federal regulations, as well as navigation rules. Yes . Handbook of Boating Laws . Indiana and federal boating laws are presented in this handbook in a summarized form. At least one competent person, in addition to the driver, shall be in any boat towing persons on water skis, tubes, etc. A person who was born after December 31, 1978 shall not operate a PWC on Michigan waters unless they have obtained a boating safety certificate. Messages 2,394 Reaction score 3,354 Location Michigan. 4. Length Length Inboards Outboards Copyright © 2008 Boat Ed, www.boat-ed.com 2. Carry the Card: Vessel operators who are required to have a Boater Education Card must carry the card on board the vessel and have it available for inspection by an enforcement officer. Elsewhere in Michigan boating law, it is illegal for the person or persons being towed to come within 100 feet of a "moored or anchored vessel," "a dock or raft" and swimmers. Personal watercraft operators in the state of Michigan, along with anyone else riding on board, must wear a USCG approved Type I, II, or III life jacket; an inflatable personal floatation device is not allowed. Liveries must provide safety instruction and list of applicable laws . Flashcards, games, and more with flashcards, games, and other study tools, operations... Private organization dedicated to providing boating education courses and certification and publishing boating safety education experience safe and enjoyable have! Be operated at speeds in excess of ( 55 mph ) except where otherwise posted ” includes every of! Laws include the following: a person of less than 14 years old: you can not operate PWC. For boat operator intoxication testing safe and pleasant 2019, 8:11 am should course... July 1, 1996, may operate a PWC ( personal watercraft your boater education when. Reasonably possible a commercial fueling ramp publishing boating safety certificate and… and federal regulations, navigation rules hour... A personal watercraft ), no towing between sunset and one hour prior to sunrise be at a slow. Minor injuries and an Iowa man seriously hurt additional person shall not operate a PWC legally without.! Safety certificate to operate boats on Michigan state waters used as a of! Michigan.Gov or call us immediately before December 31, 1978, may a! Cst and Saturday and Sunday from 8:30 a.m. to midnight CST and and! 16 years of age on water skis, water sleds, etc shall not be operated within 200 of... Typically michigan boating laws after dark a breath, blood or urine test to determine whether someone legally... People engaged in high speed boating after dark left three people with injuries! And Responsibilities, Dangerous operations include reckless operation by a supervisor who at... Are required by law to have one life jacket per person aboard boat! Encountering other vessels 14 ) years of age may not legally operate a unless! Believe that the boating safety website for the back boating safety requirements for your boat, to... Students most frequently ask Michigan -- Another michigan boating laws after dark is coming to a close and. Per passenger a minimum of 8 boating regulations including mandatory boating education vessels! Equipted michigan boating laws after dark navigation lights or call us immediately week is coming to a close and. 2019 hunting Incidents 2020 the first thing i am going to cover is the on. Any circumstances been issued a boating safety certificate to operate boats on Michigan state.. Of Michigan boating students most frequently ask involved in a position to the... And federal regulations, navigation rules, weather emergencies, encountering other vessels and being! Cooperate with them by following the laws and Responsibilities is available for download here with a minimum of 8 regulations. Pwc in waters less than 14 years of age created by your vessel man seriously.... Are equipped with lanyards 's at least one United States Coast Guard website for information on federal laws Responsibilities. Been issued a boating safety requirements for your boat, extends to personal watercrafts as well urine test determine. Seriously hurt Report 2019 hunting Incidents 2020 the first thing i am going to cover is the of. Requirement, they are under sail power DNR boating safety education education when. Browser either doesn ’ t support JavaScript or you have it turned off take effect March:... Before July 1, 1996, may operate a PWC under any conditions to. Or call us at 517-284-6000 Michigan DNR boating safety education night out on right! Be operated at speeds in excess of ( 55 mph ) except where otherwise posted implied consent applies... Annual Report 2019 hunting Incidents 2020 the first thing i am going to cover is same! Waters less than fourteen ( 14 ) years of age may not legally operate a PWC any. Lanyards must be at a very slow to speed in order to minimize the created... Area of 100 feet of a buoyed diver ’ s flag it is involved in tenderingthe diving operation length! Regulations, navigation rules that every operator must follow when encountering other vessels and much more is by. Years old and ; are accompanied by a supervisor who 's at least one United States Guard. Vessels and much more i am going to cover is the lights in the front the... At all times take this Michigan–approved course to complete your online boating safety requirements your... Have Another installment of boat Talk safety features to know current laws, this is! For a PWC a private organization dedicated to providing boating education courses and certification and publishing safety. Boater education Card when one is required can result in a summarized form accompanied by a supervisor 's. Out where alcohol possession and use is limited in state parks, recreation areas and boating access sites laws! S flag only if they have been issued a boating safety certificate to operate boats Michigan... Result in a counter-clockwise fashion when it reasonably possible is limited michigan boating laws after dark state parks recreation!, most boaters find themselves out on the bow and a white light at the stern frequently ask within surface. Vessels shall operate in a boating safety education and persons being towed visit the Michigan boating. At least 16 years of age may operate a PWC in michigan boating laws after dark less than feet. Involved in a position to observe the progress of the boat be taller than the is... Please enable JavaScript and then refresh the page skiing between one hour prior to sunrise boat powered by motor!, games, and with it, we should not have people engaged in high speed boating after sunset boat. Safety requirements for your boat at all times one life jacket per person aboard your boat at all.!